Quan Kai, Merchant from Hong Kong Visits AYPE

Many dignitaries and influential business men and their families visited the Fair. They came from far and wide. Quan Kai, a millionaire flour merchant from Hong Kong visited the Fair with his sons, a nephew and a business friend and his son. They arrived from San Francisco. Mr. Kai said, “There is no doubt that the future extension of the world’s trade will be in the Orient. No country has as great advantages for trade in the Orient as has the United States.”

Quan Kai, Millionaire flour merchant from Hong Kong

Quan Kai, Millionaire flour merchant from Hong Kong

Back: Yet On, Quan Chee On
Front: Quan Yuen, Quan Kai

Sources: Seattle Times, June 29, 1908 p 109; Seattle PI, July 1, 1909, p1.

Explore posts in the same categories: Visitors to AYPE

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Quan Kai, Merchant from Hong Kong Visits AYPE”

  1. susan butland Says:

    After extensive research with the National Archive of my ancestry, Quan Kai brough over my grandfather over to the United States. The little boy Yet On Quan is my grandfather.

    • Trish Hackett Nicola Says:

      How wonderful! Did you know that Quan Kai and taken his son to the AYPE in Seattle and had their photo in the newspaper?

  2. susan butland Says:

    what were they doing in Seattle? Was it a World’s Fair?

    • Trish Hackett Nicola Says:

      Yes, they were visiting the Alaska Yukon Pacific Exposition in Seattle in June and July 1909.

  3. Diana Lum Says:

    Hi Trish, My name is Diana Lowe Lum and I am also a descendant of Quan Yut On. He is my mother’s father. Susan Butland is my first cousin. I would like to do research to find more information on my grand father Quan Yut on and my great grandfather Quan Kai. Can I contact you by email or telephone? My email address is dianallum@gmail.com

  4. dll980 Says:

    Hi Trish, My name is Diana Lum and I am also the grand daughter of Quan Yut On. My mother, Quan Ying Jew, is the daughter of Quan Yut On and Susan Butland is my first cousin.

  5. dll980 Says:

    I was wondering if you can help me find addiional information on my grand father and my great grandfather, Quan Kai. I currently have time to do genealogy research but am new to this process and would appreciate any tips or suggestions.


Leave a Reply

